We’ve had a busy week ensuring that the house can look the best it possibly can for the valuations we have booked for Tuesday. We’ve picked 3 estate agents to come (all on the same day at different times) and give us valuations. I’m hoping they all give a figure in the same region as each other and there is no confusion in what we could realistic get for our house.

When making the appointments with the estate agents they have all commented that they have been much busier than expected and that the majority of enquiries have been from families who currently live in London and due to their work allowing remote working are looking to relocate to Essex where they can still commute in to London if needed but have the option to buy a bigger property, be nearer the countryside and own a garden. We are hoping that this allows us to sell our house quicker (although I won’t get my

Hopes up too much)

Although it’s early days we have been looking at potential houses up north. My husband would mostly work from home but would need to go to the Manchester office a few times each month. My dream is to live as remotely as possible away from the world so the Yorkshire Dales really appeals to me however, this dream is not particularly practical. We have come up with two solutions.

1. Buy a cheaper house in a remote part of the Yorkshire Dales and a flat in Manchester for my husband to stay in when he’s there for work. When it’s not being used we could rent it via AirBnB.

I need to wake up to view like this

2: Buy a house within a reasonable commuting distance to Manchester in a scenic village location such as Clitheroe, Hebden Bridge or even the Derbyshire Dales.

It’s really difficult to work out what would work best for us without going up north and exploring the areas. This won’t be an option until covid-19 restrictions are eased and we can go up for a few days. If anyone has any location suggestions for us please comment!

3 thoughts on “The valuation

  1. Can’t say I’m carried away with the idea of number 2 😉 There’s a good link from Brough lol. I guess I’ve just fallen in love with Beverley lol. Hope the valuations go well, You never know? It’s been a starved property market and others may be anxious about selling? You could do well 🙏😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Brough! My parents live in Newport now
      If I lived there it would be far too convenient for them to just turn up unannounced.

      I’m keeping my fingers crossed about
      Selling quickly.

      Option 1 is my preferred choice. 😃

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment